Droids? What Droids?!

Our biggest setback when getting into shape or progressing forward with our dreams is Mindset.  We tell ourselves that just one more cookie and then we will stop, I can sleep another half-hour and then I will get up to work out etc.  We all have said these things to ourselves whether in relation to doing homework, working out, eating or whatever, we are our own worst motivators.  With a snap of our fingers we can convince ourselves to eat that bag of oreos or watch another episode on Netflix and before we know it the bag is empty or 5 hours have gone by and we are ready for the next season.

I am extremely guilty of this, I confess, I did it just this morning.  Instead of getting up at 7:30 like I originally planned, I slept till I had to get up to take a shower before my schedule for the day started.  However, to make up for it I worked out after lunch, when I came home from my meeting. Today doing my circuit was easier than on monday, I even pushed myself a little farther.  I skipped Wednesday because of the excuse that I didn’t want to and actually I was still extremely sore from Monday.  But it is amazing how you feel after a good workout, I actually laid there on the floor for a few and grinned because I pushed myself a bit farther than Monday.  That “buzz” you get, (aka adrenaline) from exercising is way better than from food, drugs, cigarettes etc plus you are getting yourself healthier and more fit every time you do it.

I would consider that a Win-Win situation!  Wouldn’t you?

Our Mindset, or Willpower or motivation is all a mental process.  Instead of saying “I can’t” or “Maybe Later,” just get up and DO IT NOW! Get it over with, so to speak, and just go through your workout circuit.  I mean it, put the laptop down, or the smartphone, step away from the computer and go do your workout, NOW!  Then when you are done you can come back and finish reading this!

We play mind games with ourselves so often that we have stopped ourselves before we even thought of getting started.  For me, I have started telling myself that “I don’t eat sweets.”  Or even “I don’t eat cheese.”  You don’t realize how much effort that takes off the mental game when you already tell yourself that you don’t, instead of I can’t because that leaves a weak spot in your armor for you to take the offer later on in the day to consume copious amounts of that substance.  Now don’t use the phrase to not workout, that is just a defeatist mentality and if you really want to see the YOU buried under that excess weight then we cannot think that way.  When it comes to exercising, forgo saying “I can’t” instead say “I don’t skip a workout session.”  See the difference from “I don’t exercise,” to “I don’t skip workouts.”?  Already you have given yourself a bit of a mental umph to go do that circuit or routine and “level up your life.” (as Steve Kamb would say.)

Put your game face on and get out of bed or drop that remote and go for a walk, run up and down the stairs a few times, whatever.  Just tell your mind to shut up, that if you want to achieve your goals, dreams, desires and passions then the mental chess match has to stop and you need to get off your lazy bum and push yourself to succeed.  There is also a spiritual side to the mental battle we fight “cause our battle is not with flesh and blood,” but that is not a topic for here.  If you would like my input on the spiritual mental game then leave me a comment and I will write one on my other blog 😉.  Each day push yourself a little bit more and soon enough you won’t have to fight to do it because you will enjoy how you feel, the way you look and the euphoria afterwards and things will be that much easier.

So Go out and Feel the Burn today Nerds 🙂  My thighs are killing me!

1 thought on “Droids? What Droids?!

  1. So true. It all becomes so much easier once you change your mindset. Once I decided that working out was just something I did, it became so much easier! It’s no longer as much of a mental battle as it used to be. And yes, I feel so much better for it! Plus, once I started messaging good things to myself around working out (i.e. I love the way I feel about myself, I love the way it’s changing my body, I love the self-confidence it gives me, etc), it became even easier. Keep going, Josh! The longer we do this, the more it becomes habit… and then you miss it when you don’t do it! I’m excited for our futures!

    Like

Leave a comment