Minimalism Part 1: Health

As I stated in my last blog, I am going to do my first post series. Recently I finished a great book by Joshua Millburn and Ryan Nicodemus called Minimalism: Living a meaningful life. Over the next few weeks I am going to take each week and implement a different chapter from the book.  This first week, I am going to talk about Health.

I will make a promise to you that over the next week I will stick to the things I am going to say here and then next friday I will write the next post and give a update to how the past week has gone.

The Beginning

In this chapter, they talk about the main ingredients of getting and being healthy, eating and exercising. Not even remotely a surprise there. What you put into your body encompasses more than your diet (pg. 38).  And this is something I have “known” for a long time, the struggle is taking this wisdom to heart and putting it to work in our lives.

This post and the weeks to follow are all part of this reboot that I am doing in my life to get my health, myself, and my life where I want it to be.  I know I have said it before, but it is worth saying it again.  It is a process, it is slow slicing success and a day by day process to see the results I desire.

Medicine, Gluten, and Packaged Food

Most of the time I do not do any kind of medicine.  I have in the past done allergy relief medicine when my allergies have gotten out of hand; nowadays I don’t do any form of medicine.  I try as much as possible to go natural, not as a nudist, but in medicine.  I will do essential oils for certain ailments, peppermint and fluids for a headache, and will do as many natural remedies as I can for any health issues.  It’s not that I don’t trust doctors, at times I do, seeing what has happened with the health of relatives and friends as they are prescribed pills upon pills.

The rage right now is gluten free eating and living.  Even in the book they discuss living a gluten free life. Both of the authors live a pescatarian lifestyle of eating, which means vegetarians who eat fish.  I don’t know about you but, I enjoy chicken, turkey, the occasional red meat too much to forgo it all.  I am not going to talk about a Paleo lifestyle since I have written about it several times.  Although, it is an option which to discover and see if it is a eating change that would work for you.

Lastly, processed and packaged food.  We all know what these are, its the middle of the grocery store, all of the bagged and packaged things.  Several bloggers that I read and follow have talked about the one way to grocery shop is to follow the outside of the store and completely avoid the interior aisles.  Now of course there are a few good things in the interior, frozen vegetables, protein bars, teas and some of your gluten free goods.  However, the healthiest options for you are on the outer aisles and circumference of the store.

Exercise Habits

Something I realized this afternoon once again, is that we don’t need to set aside hours of our day to get the workout in. Often times we think, “Oh I need to workout today.”  And we dread the thought because, at least in my mind, it means I have to set aside several hours to do it.  In reality, all I need is 30 mins.  Either broken up throughout the day, or all at one point.  I am pretty sure that any of us can find a mere half hour to get the exercise in and begin to see a slow, but steady transformation.

Most of the time, if not all of the time, our “limits” are all in our minds.  We can do this, we can make the changes necessary and become the people, the men and women, we desire to become.  It takes dedication, effort, and persistence.  We just need to get up and give in to those desires and go out there and commit to making a change.

Go out and feel the burn today nerds.  Leave a comment, question, response.  Would love to hear from you!

Less
Lift

Leave a Reply

