Igor, flip the switch!!

Young Frankenstein, a great movie and an instant classic.

“Roll, roll, roll in ze hay!!”  “Put ze candle back!”

Sorry I could quote the movie all day, but that won’t complete this post or even make it effective.  What does young frankenstein have to do with this post…nothing! I decided on the title while pondering what I was going to write today.  And that is triggers and switches that get us going or cause us to fail.  My biggest trigger for failure is food and/or comparing myself to others. Not to mention that it is REALLY easy for me to give up and not care. But I am praying and hoping that after today things are/will be permanently different.  I was reading today’s email from my favorite entrepreneur Dani Johnson about 9/11 (12 years ago today) and how when things get bad that they could always get worse.  And I thought about 9/11 and then my mind flashed to the movie Red Dawn where North Korea invades the west coast and that inner voice asked “What would you do if the enemy invaded America?”

Wow, what?!  What would I truly do?  In my  current state I would easily be killed.  I would be captured and put into a pen with the rest of us who didn’t follow rule #1 of Zombieland “Cardio!”  Kidding, but that would mostly be the reason for my failure; lack of dedication, pour health and no physical skills.  And finally, my lovely state of Colorado decided to descend into fall temperatures and rain and I think, finally, hopefully, that switch, that trigger was flicked.  I need to change who I am, I know I have said this DOZENS of times, but if our country were really to be invaded by North Korea or some other enemy country would I be able to survive?  If we transcended into a post-apocalyptic world would i live past a week?  And the true answer, by myself is “Haha Sucker!” If I got together with adventurous, outdoorsy people it would be longer, but not enough.  So something has got to change and that has to be with the skills I have, or lack thereof.  

It didn’t help that in my church I am one of four people capable of dancing in our production of Fiddler on the Roof which means I get to do the Russian Dance. (take a couple minutes and see for yourself what I have to learn to do) And in my current physical strength and weight most of this dance and the other dances are going to be physically impossible for me.  So that was another switch that went off, that I have to change, I have no choice, that i have to be able to perform the dances for the show and not to mention I am a perfectionist haha!

It was one of my goals to become proficient at archery this year, and when my ‘sister’ comes home from South Korea we are planning on taking archery lessons.  And then I can put the skills of Alec Lightwood in Archery (minus the gay part no offense anyone) into my bag and move onto knife skills, sword skills, gun lessons and as I get to my goal weight, Parkour (SO AMAZING!!).   Maybe I should just become a Shadowhunter Assassin?! Either way it is time to become a person who is capable of surviving if we were invaded or our country were to collapse.  And I need to remind myself, continually, that it is going to be a day by day thing and no matter how much I wish, hope and pray that it is never going to be instanteous results.  I am going to have to work hard at it and daily and diligently!  And eventually I will become that Parkour, bow & arrow wielding, Shadowhunter Assassin!

Ask yourself this question, if we were to be invaded by North Korea and had to fight for survival, would you survive? I would love to hear your comments and thoughts on this question!

Go out and feel the Burn today Nerds and Nerdettes and get working towards your RPG Class!

Leave a Reply

